close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

Plan Commission

Butler City Plan Commission
215 South Broadway
Butler, IN 46721

The City of Butler Plan Commission is responsible for guiding the growth and development of Butler. The Plan Commission makes recommendations to the City Council regarding the adoption of, and amendments to:

  • The Butler Comprehensive Plan
  • The Butler Zoning Ordinance
  • The Butler Subdivision Ordinance
  • The Butler Zoning Map
The Plan Commission has sole authority for reviewing and approving development plans and new subdivisions, with input from the Board of Public Works and Safety, City departments, and other relevant County and governmental entities.  The Commission makes recommendations to the Common Council for zoning and subdivision ordinance amendments, and for zoning map amendments.

The Plan Commission meets six times per year on the second Tuesday of the following months. Meetings will be cancelled due to the lack of applications being filed. 
Meetings are held at 6:30 PM in the Butler City Hall Council Chamber - 215 South Broadway, Butler, Indiana 46721.


The Roads - for PC page

For the past three years, the Butler Plan Commission has worked toward renewing the City of Butler Comprehensive Plan.  This is to invite your participation in a review of  the working version of Butler Comprehensive Plan website titled "The Roads to Butler's Future."
This site covers Butler’s history, government, infrastructure, and demographics.  It reviews Butler’s current conditions and offers possible policies and strategies regarding future growth and development.

This website is a starting point, not a finished product.  Although it is wide-ranging, there are certainly items that we have either missed or overlooked; this is where you come in.   Our different backgrounds and areas of expertise can be applied to this plan to make it truly comprehensive and useful.

Comments regarding the plan are solicited via an email comment format at the end of each section.  Please make any comments, corrections or suggestions regarding the contents of either the plan or the survey through this form.  

We appreciate your taking the time to review this website and in helping to put together a new roadmap for Butler’s future.


Gale Ryan 
Term of Office:  1/01/2023 - 12/31/2026
Mayoral Appointment

Stephanie Rohm
Term of Office:  1/01/2023 - 12/31/2026

Jim Davis
Term of Office:  03-13-2023 - 12/31/2023
Mayoral Appointee

Scott Lanning
Term of Office: 01/01/2020 through 12/31/2023
Common Council Appointee
DeKalb County appointee for Extra-Territorial Jurisdiction
Darren Alloway
Term of Office: Concurrent with Council Office term
(1/1/2022 through 12/31/2023)

Common Council Representative District
District 3 (Southwest)
Phone: 260-868-5200 (City Hall)

Mark Cline
Term of Office: Concurrent
with Council office term
(1/1/2022 through 12/31/2023)
Common Council Representative

District: District 2 (Northeast)
Phone:  260-868-5200 (City Hall)

Greg Reed
Term of Office: 01/22/2022 through 12/31/2025
Commission Vice-President
Mayoral Appointee
Adam Staley -  Current Commission President
DeKalb County appointee for Extra-Territorial Jurisdiction

Sandy Harrison
DeKalb County Plan Commission (non-voting) member